Tampa Trauma Centers

September 28, 2023 | By Mike Hancock
Tampa Trauma Centers

If you are experiencing a medical emergency, dial 911.

After an auto accident or other serious personal injury, immediate medical attention may be required. Medical trauma is defined as a sudden onset of a physical injury with sufficient severity to require immediate medical attention. Trauma centers in Tampa, like St. Joseph’s Hospital and Tampa General Hospital, stand ready to accept injured victims. This page explains the different types of Trauma Center designations in Florida and lists Tampa’s Trauma Centers.

Tampa has two hospitals with emergency departments which have trauma center designations. They are St. Joseph’s Hospital, with a Level II Trauma Center and a Pediatric Trauma Center, and Tampa General Hospital which has a Level 1 Trauma Center.

St. Joseph’s Hospital
St. Joseph’s is a non-profit hospital which has been treating patients for over 40 years and sees over 150,000 patients every year. It’s also home to Bayflite III, a helicopter which may be dispatched to any of the eight counties which make up West Central Florida.
Level II Trauma Center
Pediatric Trauma Center
3001 W. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., Blvd
Tampa, Florida, 33607
(800) 229-2273

Tampa General Hospital
Level I Trauma Center
TGH is the area’s first and only Level 1 Trauma Center and also has a Pediatric Emergency Care Center. TGH’s Aeromed Regional Transport Program flies in patients from 23 nearby counties via helicopter. TGH has been rated one of the world’s best hospitals.
1 Tampa General Cir
Tampa, FL 33606
(813) 844-7000

Types Of Trauma Centers

A trauma center is a medical treatment facility found in a hospital that is equipped to deal with severe traumatic injuries. That being said, a trauma center should not be confused with an emergency department. Rather, a trauma center is equipped to handle the most critical injuries and is capable of providing highly-specialized treatment for their patients.

The state has made three designations of trauma centers, each having different requirements for equipment, training and treatment. Each state has its own designation, however, there are significant similarities in each of the state’s designations and requirements.

By law, the Florida Department of Health created the designation of the trauma centers throughout the state. Each center is then verified by the American College of Surgeons which has nationally standards used in the verification process.

A trauma center’s ranking is verified every three years, so it has to maintain those programs and policies that were in place when the designation was made or they risk losing their rating. These designations are:

  • Level I Trauma Centers
  • Level II Trauma Centers
  • Pediatric Trauma Centers

Level I Trauma Centers

A Level I one trauma center is the highest level ranking that a trauma center can obtain. It must meet a rigorous set of standards and be verified by the Florida Department of Health.

Some of the requirements to receive Level I designation are:

  • Has the resources, equipment, and personnel on staff to handle critical patient care
  • Has formal trauma certified doctors, nurses and surgeons on staff at all times
  • Has formal research and education programs used to keep the staff current with treatment and care protocols
  • Provides support for Pediatric and Level II trauma centers
  • Has various levels of support and funding

Level II Trauma Centers

The requirements are similar to a Level I center but without the research and residency requirements. Additionally, a level II center typically will not see the same number of patients as a level I.

Components of Level II Center:

  • Has the resources, equipment, and personnel to handle critical patient care
  • Has formal trauma certified doctors, nurses and surgeons on staff at all times
  • Continues in training for the enhancement of trauma care
  • Has various levels of local (municipal) support and funding

Pediatric Trauma Centers

All Level I Trauma Centers serve as a Pediatric Trauma Center, and other trauma centers can have the designations of a Pediatric Trauma Center without a Level I or II designation.

Components of a Pediatric Trauma Center:

  • Has the resources and equipment to handle critical pediatric patients
  • Has the personnel and staff trained and certified in pediatric critical care
  • Has a pediatric trauma certified emergency doctor and a pediatric surgeon on at all times

Do You Need A Lawyer After A Traumatic Injury?

When you have been the victim of a traumatic injury, you require urgent attention and support. In addition to medical resources, your injury might also require legal attention. We understand that time is of the essence. That is why our phones are answered 24 hours a day, seven days a week. We will answer your questions, make recommendations, and provide you with a free, confidential evaluation of your injury claim, all without obligation to use our legal services. Call our compassionate lawyers today to learn about catastrophic injury cases and Tampa trauma centers.

Click here for a free consultation so that you can focus on healing while we take care of everything else.

Mike Hancock


People involved in serious accidents experience loss and often don’t know what to do next. Tampa Personal Injury Attorney Mike Hancock has dedicated his career to handling the recovery process for his clients so that their lives can get back to normal.

Mike has excelled in personal injury litigation for over 30 years and even though that’s earned him numerous professional honors, what’s most important to him is meeting directly with you and his commitment to giving you peace of mind.

Author's Bio