In an effort to address insurance fraud with the PIP law in Florida, as well as save consumers money, the Florida legislature recently passed a law changing how personal injury protection (PIP) is handled in the state. According to Governor Rick Scott, the new legislation will give consumers some much-needed relief on their car insurance rates because it will reduce the amount of money that is spent investigating fraud.
The following are some of the important changes made to the state’s PIP law.
The new PIP law drastically reduces the amount of time that someone has to seek treatment after an accident. Previously, there was no cutoff to receive medical treatment, but now, patients only have 14 days after an accident to initiate treatment. If this is not done, patients will not be eligible to receive PIP payments from insurers for their medical care.
Who Can Treat Patients
There will be limits placed on who can treat patients for PIP payments. Under the new law, massage therapists and acupuncturists will not be able to treat patients under PIP. Patients can, however, receive treatment from medical professionals such as physical therapists, nurse practitioners, chiropractors, dentists and osteopathic physicians.
Limits to Payments Received
In order to receive up to $10,000 in PIP benefits, the patient must be diagnosed with an emergency medical condition, which the law defines as anything that impairs bodily functions, puts a patient’s overall health in jeopardy or causes an organ or body part to suffer dysfunction. When a patient suffers from less severe injuries, like soft-tissue damage, the new law will only allow a PIP payment of up to $2,500.
Reduced Insurance Rates
The new law requires that consumers see a ten percent reduction in the amount that they pay for PIP premiums.
Call Auto Accident Attorney Mike Hancock with your questions
Call 813-915-1110 with your questions about the changes to the PIP law in Florida. Our phones are answered 24/7/365.