It’s that time of year again for flowers, chocolate, and a romantic night out with your special someone. However, while love might be in the air this Valentine’s Day, nothing puts a damper on your evening more than a car accident.
Driving with another passenger in the car can make your chances of getting into an accident even higher, making Valentine’s Day a dangerous day to drive. In the unfortunate case there is an accident that involves injuries, you can hire a personal injury attorney. But what about your passenger? Are they eligible for a personal injury claim? And who is responsible?
Read below to learn about the dangers of multiple passengers and what happens when other travelers get hurt, or visit our FAQ’s about car accidents to further educate yourself.
The more passengers, the more danger
Although there’s a saying “there’s safety in numbers,” the same doesn’t quite apply when driving in a car. Studies have shown that drivers with passengers were almost 60 percent more likely to have a car accident resulting in hospital attendance than those driving alone. And the likelihood of a crash is more than doubled in the presence of two or more passengers. Distracted driving is one of the largest causes of car accidents, and with each added passenger there are added distractions.
Research has found that males with passengers are more likely to be distracted by an exterior factor, while women with passengers are more likely to be distracted by an interior factor while driving. Either way, drivers with distractions due to peers were found more likely to perform aggressive or illegal moves.
Who is responsible for passenger’s injuries?
In most cases, when a passenger is injured in a car accident, the negligent (or at-fault) driver is liable. The at-fault party may be the driver of another vehicle, or it could be the driver of the vehicle in which the passenger is located. If needed, we would file claims against all drivers, and have a jury determine the percentage of liability of each driver for the injuries of the passenger.
Florida is a no-fault state, meaning the state requires insurance companies to cover a policyholder’s financial losses regardless of who has been determined legally responsible for the accident. Florida drivers are required to carry what’s called personal injury protection (PIP). This type of insurance pays for passengers’ medical expenses and lost wages, no matter who’s at fault.
Florida law requires every owner of a motor vehicle registered in Florida to carry PIP to protect themselves in the event of injuries sustained in a car accident. This coverage pays 80% of reasonable and necessary medical bills, 60% of lost wages, and 100% of household services, up to a limit of $10,000.
Driving with one or more passengers is something every driver will most likely do, and there’s nothing wrong with that. However, as more and more accidents occur due to distracted driving, keep in my mind your safety, and the safety of those in the car with you.
If you’ve been involved in a car accident, document all the necessary information such as time, date, and location of accident, other driver’s car and license information and damages/injuries, and then read “8 Ways to Maximize Your Car Accident Personal Injury Case”.
And for your free, no obligation telephone conversation with attorney Mike Hancock, call 813-915-1110, or send him an email. Our phones are answered 24/7. And if we don’t recovery money for your injuries, you don’t pay us.