Uber Driver Car Insurance
The Florida legislature recently passed a bill that has certain requirements for Uber and Lyft drivers when it comes to insurance. More specifically, the bill requires ride-sharing companies to have their drivers carry $100,000 of insurance for bodily liability or death and $25,000 for property damage when a driver is logged into the app, but doesn’t have a passenger.
When a driver gets a rider, that coverage minimum goes up to $1 million. It also requires ride-sharing companies to have third parties run criminal background checks on drivers, and preempts local ordinances or other rules on these companies. You can read the exact bill for yourself here.
Governor Rick Scott is expected to sign this bill to law as he tweeted from his official twitter account, “I look forward to signing the @ / @ bill.” Uber’s Public Affairs Manager for Uber Florida, Javi Correoso. said in a statement, “On behalf of thousands of Uber driver partners and millions of Florida residents and visitors who rely on ride-sharing, we thank Gov. Scott for his commitment to ensuring our state remains at the forefront of innovation and job creation.Upon the governor’s signature, Floridians and tourists will have access to a safe, reliable and affordable transportation option.”
Some other things to know include that a ride-sharing company driver has to carry proof of insurance and coverage at all times of connection to a digital network.
These increased protections will be helpful for both riders who were injured due to their own driver’s fault and riders injured by other drivers on the road. What do you think about this legislation? It keeps Uber and Lyft in Florida and makes it safer for riders. Do you have an opinion on keeping these services around?